TSANZ home

TSANZ President Award

Home 5 Research and Awards 5 Past Award Winners 5 TSANZ President Award

TSANZ President Award

The TSANZ President’s Award is a prestigious award for an individual who has significantly contributed to promoting respiratory health in the community, particularly in the area of tobacco control, either in Australia or New Zealand.


TSANZ would like to congratulate the following Award winners. 


Year Winner
2023 Ms Letitia Harding – Raising public awareness and promoting school-based education on the dangers of E-cigarette/Vaping in New Zealand
2022 Mr Maurice Swanson OAM – Commitment to tobacco control
2021 Prof Brendan Murphy – Management of Covid-19 pandemic in Australia
2020 Prof Emily Banks – Research in tobacco control
2019 ASPIRE 2025 – Research for a tobacco-free Aotearoa
2018 Prof Matthew Peters – Head of Respiratory Medicine, Concord Repatriation General Hospital
2017 Dr Becky Freeman – School of Public Health, The University of Sydney
2016 Prof Billie Bonevski – School of Medicine & Public Health, The University of Newcastle
2015 Lachlan Wright – Cardiovascular Division, The George Institute for Global Health Australia
2014 Dr Bronwyn King – Epworth Radiation Oncology, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
2013 The Hon. Nicola Roxon MP – Federal Member for Gellibrand
2012 Dr Andrew Penman AM – CEO of Cancer Council NSW
2011 Dr Smita Shah – Senior Career Medical Officer, Westmead Hospital
2010 Prof Mike Daube – Professor of Health Policy, Curtin University
2009 A/Prof Renee Bittoun – Brain & Mind Research Institute, USYD
2008 Dr Nigel Gray AO
2007 Dr Helen Glasgow – The Quit Group, NZ
2006 Prof Simon Chapman – School of Public Health, USYD
2005 Mr Brian McBride – Non Smoking Movement of Australia
2004 Ms Anne Jones – Action on Smoking & Health Australia
2002 The Hon J Thwaites MP – Minister for Health
2001 A/Prof Robyn Richmond – University of NSW
2000 The Rt Hon Helen Clark – Prime Minister of NZ


Become part of a network of professionals working in respiratory and lung health clinical care and treatment, research, health promotion and advocacy.

By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies outlined in our revised Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.