The Thoracic Society of ANZ

2021 Award Winners

Home 5 Research and Awards 5 Past Award Winners 5 2021 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners




(Saturday, 1st May 2021):

Over $300,000 in lung research investment was announced this weekend at the Respiratory Research Excellence Awards, presented in a virtual format alongside the Australia and New Zealand Annual Scientific Meeting for Leaders in Lung Health & Respiratory Science (TSANZSRS 2021).

This prestigious selection of awards are presented to TSANZ members who are at various stages of their career and doing outstanding work. These awards aim to support individuals through project funding, fellowships and travel grants.

“This funding enables our researchers to learn more and develop their skills, with the overall goal of preventing, curing and alleviating disability from lung disease. Every dollar invested takes us one step closer to reaching that goal,” said TSANZ President Elect Professor John Upham.

“We’re honoured to be able to support some of Australia’s most innovative researchers working on lung disease and lung health. This research will make a difference to the lives of the 1 in 4 Australians with lung disease,” he said.

Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ) – the hosts of TSANZSRS – are pleased to announce awards from Cystic Fibrosis Australia, the National Asthma Council Australia, Lung Foundation Australia and the Centre of Research Excellence in Pulmonary Fibrosis.

“The TSANZ is privileged to support a diverse awards program that recognises the best and brightest minds in respiratory health that will shape the lung health of our communities into the future” said TSANZ CEO, Dr Graham Hall.

The research awards are supported by the generosity of private donations, sponsorship and leveraged financing from recipients’ institutions. Thank you to our generous sponsors and organisational partners for enabling our world-class researchers to continue to create respiratory knowledge and build capacity in the respiratory workforce, with the overall goal to prevent, cure and relieve disability from lung disease.

TSANZ would like to congratulate the following Award winners. For information on how to apply for next year’s Awards visit the TSANZ website Research and Awards page.

2021 TSANZ Awards by Nomination


TSANZ 2021 President’s Award

Professor Brendan Murphy

TSANZ 50th Anniversary Medal for Education and Training

Professor Christine McDonald, Professor Martin Phillips

TSANZ Research MedalProfessor Gary Lee
TSANZ Society MedalProfessor Anne Holland

2021 Respiratory Research Excellence Award Winners

TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award – Early Career Maggie Lam, Monash University
TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award – Early CareerMelissa Preissner, Monash University
TSANZ Janet Elder Travel Award – Early Career Mariana Hoffman Barbosa, Monash University
TSANZ Boehringer Ingelheim NZ Primary Care GrantSarah Mooney, Auckland University of Technology
TSANZ, National Asthma Council Australia and Telethon Kids Institute – Asthma and Airways Career Development FellowshipRachel Foong, Telethon Kids Institute
TSANZ Past Presidents Scholarship AwardElena Schneider-Futschik, The University of Melbourne
TSANZ Peter Phelan Research AwardThomas Iosifidis, Curtin University and Telethon Kids Institute
TSANZ Robert Pierce Grant-In-Aid for Indigenous Lung HealthPeter Wark, University of Newcastle and Hunter Medical Research Institute
TSANZ Ann Woolcock New Investigator AwardNicole Sheers, Austin Health, University of Melbourne
ACFRT 2021 Innovation Grant partnering with 4DMedicalElena Schneider-Futschik, University of Melbourne
TSANZ Maurice Blackburn Grant-in-AidKeshav Raj Paudel, University of Technology Sydney
CREATE Grant-in-Aid For new collaborative research between CREATE Fellows (CRE-PF and Lung Foundation Australia)Laura Glenn, Alan Teoh, Hayley Barnes & John Mackintosh, RPAH, Alfred Health & Prince Charles Hospital
PACT Grant-in-Aid For Investigator Led Pulmonary Fibrosis Clinical Research (Lung Foundation Australia and CRE-PF)Yet Hong Khor & Christopher Ryerson, Austin Health & University of British Columbia
CREATE Hope PhD Scholarships in Pulmonary Fibrosis (Lung Foundation Australia and CRE-PF)Joanna Lee, Monash University
CREATE Hope PhD Scholarships in Pulmonary Fibrosis (Lung Foundation Australia and CRE-PF)Claudia Sim, Monash University
CREATE Grant-in-Aid For new collaborative research between CREATE Fellows (CRE-PF and Lung Foundation Australia)Gang Liu, Ashleigh Philp & Laura Glenn, UTS, UNSW & The University of Sydney 


Become part of a network of professionals working in respiratory and lung health clinical care and treatment, research, health promotion and advocacy.

By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies outlined in our revised Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.