The Thoracic Society of ANZ

2020 Award Winners

Home 5 Research and Awards 5 Past Award Winners 5 2020 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

TSANZ Awards by Nomination

TSANZ 50th Anniversary Medal for Education and Training – Associate Professor David Fielding

TSANZ Research Medal – Professor Shyamali Dharmage, Professor Alan James

TSANZ Society Medal – Associate Professor Tara Mackenzie


  • Professor Richard Beasley
  • Professor Margaret Wilsher
  • Professor Ross Vlahos

2020 Respiratory Research Excellence Awards

Ann Woolcock New Investigator Award Winner: Kurtis Budden

Ann Woolcock New Investigator Award Finalists: Kak-Ming Ling, Rebecca Stockwell, Steven Taylor, Pamela Laird, Razia Zakarya

TSANZ and National Asthma Council Australia Asthma and Airways Career Development Fellowship: Simon Craig

TSANZ/AstraZeneca Respiratory Research Mid-Career Fellowship: Hayley Scott

TSANZ/AstraZeneca Respiratory Research Early Career Fellowship: Steven Taylor

Australian Cystic Fibrosis Research Trust 2020 Innovation Grant: Abdullah Tarique, Peter Sly, Emmanuelle Fantino, Clair Wainwright, and Scott Bell

Vertex Adult Cystic Fibrosis Research Award: Sandra Hodge, Peter Zalewski, David Parsons, Andrew Tai, Sally Chapman, Judith Morton, and Emily Hopkins

Vertex Paediatric Cystic Fibrosis Research Award: Shafagh Waters and Adam Jaffe

Maurice Blackburn Grant-in-Aid for Occupational Lung Disease: Mariane T Turner, Samuel Sameh, Robert A Cohen, and Deborah H Yates

TSANZ Rob Pierce Grant-In-Aid for Indigenous Lung Health: Kristin Carson-Chahhoud

TSANZ Peter Phelan Paediatric Research Award: Shivanthan Shanthikumar

TSANZ / Boehringer Ingelheim Australia COPD Travel Award: Katrina Tonga

TSANZ / Boehringer Ingelheim New Zealand COPD Travel Award: Hajar Ali

TSANZ/JRS Early Career Development Award: Saleela Ruwanpura

Janet Elder International Mid-Career Travel Award: David G Chapman

Janet Elder International Early Career Travel Award Recipient 1: Steven Taylor

Janet Elder International Early Career Travel Award Recipient 2: Tony Zhang

TSANZ Respiratory Nurses Career Development Award for Indigenous Research: Kobi Schutz

TSANZ would like to thank our partners and sponsors for their support of excellent respiratory research and researchers!

National Asthma Council Australia
Boehringer Ingelheim
Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Cystic Fibrosis Australia
Lung Foundation Australia

Become part of a network of professionals working in respiratory and lung health clinical care and treatment, research, health promotion and advocacy.

By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies outlined in our revised Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.