The Thoracic Society of ANZ

2017 Award Winners

Home 5 Research and Awards 5 Past Award Winners 5 2017 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

Presented at the 2017 TSANZ ASM in Canberra

Thoracic Society Medals

  • Laennec Medal – presented to the outgoing TSANZ President, Prof Peter Gibson
  • Society Medal – presented to A/Prof Peter Holmes
  • 50th Anniversary Medal – presented to Prof Jennifer Alison and Prof Richard Ruffin
  • President’s Award – presented to Dr Becky Freeman
  • Wunderly Oration – delivered by Prof Jennifer Martin


  • TSANZ / National Asthma Council Australia – Asthma and Airways Career Development Fellowship – presented to Dr Adam Collison
  • 2016 Vertex Adult Cystic Fibrosis Fellowship – presented to Dr Anna Tai
  • Lung Foundation Australia / Boehringer Ingelheim COPD Research Fellowship 2017/2018 – presented to Dr Anna Hudson

Abstract-linked Awards

  • TSANZ Janet Elder Early Career Travel Awards – presented to Dr Luke Garratt and Dr Jade Jaffar
  • TSANZ Janet Elder Mid Career Travel Award – presented to Prof Lisa Wood
  • TSANZ / Japanese Respiratory Society Early Career Travel Award – presented to Dr Eugene Roscioli
  • TSANZ / Boehringer Ingelheim COPD Travel Award – presented to Dr Eskandarain Shaffudin

Ann Woolcock New Investigator Finalists

  • Tim Rosenow, Telethon Kids, University of Western Australia
  • Simone Barry, Royal Adelaide Hospital
    Eugene Roscioli, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Lung Research Laboratory
  • Thomas Iosifidis, University of Western Australia [Winner]
  • Rhiannon Werder, University of Queensland
  • Phillipa Southwell, Charles Sturt University

Research Project Support Awards

  • 2016 Boehringer Ingelheim COPD Research Award – presented to A/Prof Greg Hodge and Prof Sandra Hodge
  • 2017 Boehringer Ingelheim COPD Research Award – presented to Dr Maria Sukkar and Dr Jane Bourke
  • Maurice Blackburn Grant-in-Aid for Asbestos Research – presented to Prof Steve Mutsaers
  • AstraZeneca Grant-in-Aid for Severe Asthma – presented to Dr Fatemeh Moheimani
  • TSANZ Robert Pierce Grant-in-Aid for Indigenous Lung Health – presented to Dr Holly Clifford
  • Lung Foundation Australia / Ivan Cash Research Grant-in-Aid Award – presented to Dr Yet Hong Khor
  • Lung Foundation Australia / Lizotte Family Research Award – presented to Dr Michael Schuliga
  • Lung Foundation Australia / Ludwig Engel Grant-in-Aid for Physiological Research – presented to Prof Peter Middleton
  • Australian Cystic Fibrosis Research Trust 2017 Innovation Grant – presented to Dr Jay Horvat, Prof Peter Wark, and Prof Phil Hansbro

Travel Awards

  • TSANZ Peter Phelan Travel Fellowship – presented to Dr Kimberley Wang
  • TSANZ Respiratory Nurse Career Development Award for Indigenous Research – presented to Ms Erin Plumb

Special Interest Group Awards

  • TSANZ Best Poster Prize (supported by Boehringer Ingelheim) – presented to David Chapman
  • Asthma & Allergy (supported by National Asthma Council Australia) – presented to Joy Lee
  • Asthma & Allergy (supported by Asthma Australia) – presented to James Pinkerton
  • OELD/Population Health (supported by Maurice Blackburn ) – presented to Holly Clifford
  • Lung Cancer (supported by Maurice Blackburn) – presented to Koliarne Tong
  • COPD (supported by Boehringer Ingelheim) – presented to Steven Maltby
  • OLIV (supported by Boehringer Ingelheim) – presented to Rebecca Harper
  • Primary Care (supported by Boehringer Ingelheim) – presented to Juliet Foster
  • Respiratory Nurses Oral (supported by Boehringer Ingelheim) – to co-presenters Mary Roberts and Vinita Swami
  • Pulmonary Physiology and Sleep, John Reid Prize (supported by Lung Foundation Australia) – presented to Mahesh Dharmakamara
  • David Serisier Memorial Award 2017 for Translational Research – Respiratory Infectious Disease (supported by Lung Foundation Australia) – presented to Su-Ling Loo
  • Cystic Fibrosis (Supported by Cystic Fibrosis Australia) – presented to Michelle Wood
  • Cell biology/Immunology – Andrew Reid
  • Evidence Based Medicine – presented to Narelle Cox
  • Interventional Pulmonology – presented to Arash Badiei
  • Peter van Asperen Paediatric Award – presented to Ajay Kevat
  • Physiotherapy – presented to Sally Wootton
  • Tobacco Control – presented to Jenifer Liang

Become part of a network of professionals working in respiratory and lung health clinical care and treatment, research, health promotion and advocacy.

By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies outlined in our revised Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.