The Thoracic Society of ANZ

Special Interest Groups

Home 5 About us 5 Special Interest Groups

Special Interest Groups


The TSANZ Special Interest Groups (SIGs) play a valuable role within the Society. They are the product of considerable thought, consultation and discussion by TSANZ members who wish to further the development of new knowledge and practice in a particular area of expertise. The SIGs are also the main contributors in the program development of the highly anticipated TSANZSRS Annual Scientific Meeting.

The leadership role of SIGs are voluntary and are elected by the Members of the SIG.

Further information about SIGs, including their role, terms of reference, communication strategies, can be found in the by laws of TSANZ Constitution and the SIG Convenor’s Toolbox.

Listed below are all current TSANZ SIGs and the Convenors. All communications with the SIGs are coordinated through the TSANZ Office.

Asthma & Allergy SIG
Convenors: Adam Collison and Eve Denton
Deputy Convenors: Kimberley Wang and Richard Kim


Cell, Immunology & Molecular Biology of the Lung SIG
Convenor: Alen Faiz 
Deputy Convenor: Rhiannon Werder


Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) SIG
Convenors: Arwel Jones (Lead Convenor) and Philip Masel
Deputy Convenors: Wenying Lu and Dinh Bui 


Cystic Fibrosis SIG
Convenor: Simone Visser (Adult)
Convenor: Geshani Jayasuriya (Paediatric)


Evidence-Based Medicine & Practice SIG
Convenor: Mariana Hoffman 
Deputy Convenor: Hayley Lewthwaite 


Interventional Pulmonology / Bronchology SIG
Convenor: Arash Badiei
Deputy Convenor: Paul Lilburn 


Lung Cancer SIG
Convenor: Calvin Sidhu 
Deputy Convenor: Gerard Olive 


Nutrition SIG
Convenor: Evan Williams 
Deputy Convenor: Kurtis Budden 


Occupational & Environmental Lung Disease / Population Health SIG
Convenor: Sheikh Alif
Deputy Convenor: Janet Williams


Orphan Lung Diseases, Lung Transplant, Interstitial Lung Disease and Pulmonary Vascular Disease (OLIV) SIG
Convenor: Edmund Lau
Deputy Convenor: Ingrid Cox 
Paediatric SIG
Convenor: Sandra Chuang
Deputy Convenors: Ramaa Puvvadi


Physiotherapy SIG
Convenor: Mariana Hoffman
Deputy Convenor: Leona Dowman


Primary Care SIG
Convenor: Anthony Sunjaya
Deputy Convenor: Chris Barton


Pulmonary Physiology & Sleep SIG
Convenor: Anna Hudson
Deputy Convenor: Kaj Blokland


Respiratory Infectious Diseases SIG
Convenor: Simone Barry
Deputy Convenor: Anthony Byrne


Respiratory Nurses SIG
Australian Convenor: John Harrington
Australian Co-Convenor: Catherine Buchan
New Zealand Convenor: Sharon Hancock
New Zealand Co-Convenor: Nicola Corna 


Symptom Support & Palliative Care SIG
Convenor: Rebecca Disler
Deputy Convenor: Michelle Baird


Tobacco & Related Substances SIG
Convenor: Henry Marshall
Deputy Convenor: Moya Vandeleur


If you would like to get involved or if you wish to send a message to any of the SIGs please email your enquiry to Or,


Become part of a network of professionals working in respiratory and lung health clinical care and treatment, research, health promotion and advocacy.

By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies outlined in our revised Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.